Patrons, Presidents, Trustees and Appointees.

Founded by John Giles. Inaugurated 11 November 1980. Registered Charity No. 298365.



Sir Hew Strachan FRSE FRHistS


Honorary President

Professor Peter Simkins MBE FRHistS


Honorary Vice-Presidents

André Coillot

Professor John Bourne BA PhD FRHistS

Professor Gary Sheffield BA MA PhD FRHistS

The Burgomaster of Ypres

The Mayor of Albert

General The Lord Donnatt GCB CBE MC DL

Lt. Col. Graham W. Parker OBE

Lt. Col. (Rtd) Christopher Pugsley DPhil FRHistS

Dr Roger V. Lee PhD jssc

Major-General (ret'd) Mungo Melvin CB OBE





Colin Wagstaff

Vice Chairman

& Development           

David Tattersfield

Honorary Secretary

Stephen Oram

Honorary Treasurer

Richard Lloyd


Richard Hughes

Branch Co-ordinator            

Garry Trown

Universities Officers

Dr Phylomena Badsey


Martyn Hale

Press and Publicity

Dr Tom Thorpe

European Officer

Andrew Tonge


Outside Events

Jane Backhouse

Branded Goods

Mark Macartney






WFA Office

Sarah Gunn

Stand To! Editor

Jon Cooksey

Book Review Editor     

David Filsell


Bulletin Editor

Ralph Lomas

Digital Editor

& Trench Lines

Jonathan Vernon

Social Media Coordinator     

Lyndsay Knight