Patrons, Presidents, Trustees and Appointees of The Western Front Association 

Founded by John Giles. Inaugurated 11 November 1980. Registered Charity No. 298365.


Patrons of The Western Front Association 

Sir Hew Strachan FRSE FRHistS

Professor Peter Simkins MBE FRHistS


Honorary President of The Western Front Association 

Professor Gary Sheffield BA MA PhD FRHistS


Honorary Vice-Presidents of The Western Front Association 

André Coillot

Professor John Bourne BA PhD FRHistS

The Burgomaster of Ypres

The Mayor of Albert

Col (Rtd) Patrick M Dennis OMM

Lt. Col. (Rtd) Christopher Pugsley DPhil FRHistS

Dr Roger V. Lee PhD jssc

Major-General (ret'd) Mungo Melvin CB OBE

Dr Jack Sheldon MA PhD FRGS

Dr Spencer Jones


Trustees of The Western Front Association 


Tony Bolton

Vice Chairman & Development  

David Tattersfield

Honorary Secretary

Jill Stewart

Honorary Treasurer

Derek Blair

Legal Trustee

Richard Hughes

Education Trustee

Eve Wilson

PR & Press Trustee

Tom Thorpe

Events Coordinator

Colin Wagstaff

Island of Ireland Trustee

Gerry White

Branded Goods Trustee

Mark Macartney

Appointees of The Western Front Association


Stand To! Editor 

Matt Leonard

Book Reviews Editor 

Andrea Hetherington

Bulletin Editor

Ralph Lomas

Digital Editor

Jonathan F Vernon

Assistant Development Officer



Universities Officer

Dr Adam Prime

European Officer

Rocky Salmon

European Field Office

Michèl Admiraal

Branch Coordinator

Steve Cornock

Speakers List Editor

Roger Davies  

The Western Front Association  Office

 Maya Shapland